Board Members

William O’Keefe

Mr. O’Keefe is CEO of the Marshall Institute and President of Solutions Consulting, Inc. He has also served as Senior Vice President of Jellinek, Schwartz and Conolly, Inc., Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of the American Petroleum Institute and Chief Administrative Officer of the Center for Naval Analyses.  Mr. O’Keefe has held positions on the Board of Directors of the Kennedy Institute, the U.S. Energy Association and the Competitive Enterprise Institute and is Chairman Emeritus of the Global Climate Coalition.

Dr. Gregory Canavan

Gregory Canavan works in the Physics Division Office of the Los Alamos National Laboratory. In January 2000 he was elected an APS Fellow through the Forum on Physics and Society for his contributions leading to the improvement of military science and technology and for leadership in the transfer of remote sensing and communications technologies to the scientific, civilian and commercial sectors. Dr. Canavan received his Ph.D. in Applied Science from the University of California, Davis in 1969 and came to Los Alamos in 1981 after serving as the director of the Offie of Inertial Fusion at the Department of Energy and as a deputy to the Air Force Chief of Staff.

Dr. William Happer

William Happer, Chairman of the Marshall Institute and Cyrus Fogg Brackett Professor of Physics at Princeton University, is a specialist in modern optics, optical and radiofrequency spectroscopy of atoms and molecules, and spin-polarized atoms and nuclei. From 1991 to 1993, he served as Director of Energy Research in the Department of Energy and on his return to Princeton, he was named Eugene Higgins Professor of Physics and Chair of the University Research Board.

Mark Mills

Mark P. Mills is founder and CEO of the Digital Power Group, an energy and tech capital advisory group. He was formerly the co-founder and chief tech strategist for Digital Power Capital, a boutique venture fund, where, among numerous other transactions, he served as Chairman and CEO of a lithium battery start-up, and earlier co-founded and served as Chairman and CTO of ICx Technologies helping take it public in a 2007 IPO. Mark is a member of the Advisory Council of the McCormick School of Engineering and Applied Science at Northwestern University. Mark also is a Senior Fellow at the Manhattan Institute.

Dr. John H. Moore

John H. Moore is President of Grove City College. He has served as Deputy Director of the National Science Foundation and as Professor of Economics at George Mason University. Dr. Moore is former Associate Director of the Hoover Institution and holds degrees in both chemical engineering and economics.

Rodney W. Nichols

Rodney W. Nichols, President and CEO of the New York Academy of Sciences from 1991 to 2001, was previously Scholar-in-Residence at the Carnegie Corporation of New York (1990-1992), and Vice President and Executive Vice President of The Rockefeller University (1970-1990).

Dr. Milan (Mitch) Nikolich

For over two decades Mitch Nikolich has been a recognized figure in matters at the nexus of technology, policy and national security. He helped to initiate a number of programs within the Strategic Defense Initiative as well as early deployment options advocated by the Chief of Staff of the Air Force and the stand-up of the Department of Defense?s Counterproliferation program. More recently, he played key roles in the strategic arms control decisions of the 1990s notably the ABM treaty, START II and START III including participation in formal talks with the Russian Federation and the 2001 Nuclear Posture Review. He also served with the Congressional Commission on Electromagnetic Pulse.

Dr. Roy Spencer

Dr. Roy Spencer is a principal research scientist for University of Alabama in Huntsville. In the past, he has served as Senior Scientist for Climate Studies at NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Alabama, where here he directed research into the development and application of satellite passive microwave remote sensing techniques for measuring global temperature, water vapor, and precipitation. He currently is the U.S. Science Team Leader for the Advanced Microwave Scanning Radiometer (AMSR-E) on NASA’s Aqua satellite. Dr. Spencer is the recipient of NASA’s Medal for Exceptional Scientific Achievement and the American Meteorological Society’s Special Award for his satellite-based temperature monitoring work. He is the author of numerous scientific articles that have appeared in Science, Nature, Journal of Climate, Monthly Weather Review, Journal of Atmospheric and Oceanic Technology, Journal of Climate and Applied Meteorology, Remote Sensing Reviews, Advances in Space Research, and Climatic Change. Dr. Spencer received his Ph.D. in Meteorology from the University of Wisconsin in 1981.

Partner & Fellow Blogs