Let’s Be Policy Driven, Not Politically Driven, in Energy and Climate Change

Today, as Congress considers new incentives and subsidies to encourage the public and private sectors to work together to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions (without
sacrificing economic prosperity), the public is well-advised to reconsider the recently passed legislation that established a viable climate policy for the United States.

On June 21, 2005, the Hagel-Pryor climate change amendment passed the Senate by a vote of 66-29. Senators Alexander, Landrieu, Craig, Dole, Murkowski, Voinovich,
and Stevens were the original co-sponsors. When the House and Senate met in conference to work out the differences between their energy bills, the Senate policy
was adopted in the Conference Report. The Conference Report passed both chambers and was signed into law by President Bush on August 8, 2005. As the law of the
land, Title XVI of the Energy Policy Act of 2005 (EPACT 2005) is the current U.S. climate policy.

Partner & Fellow Blogs